Country News

The Library of Congress has set Garth Brooks as a 2020 recipient of its Gershwin Prize for Popular Song, to be awarded at an all-star tribute concert in Washington D.C. in March 2020.

Previous recipients include Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, Stevie Wonder, Billy Joel, Willie Nelson, Smokey Robinson and the songwriting team of Burt Bacharach and Hal David.

Garth said, “An award is only as good as the names on it. First off, for any musician, the name Gershwin says it all. Add to Ira’s and George’s names the names of the past recipients, and you have an award of the highest honor. I am truly humbled.”

The airdate for the national PBS broadcast of the March concert will be set at a later time.