Country News

The Country Music Association has revealed its 2019 Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award recipient will be Kris Kristofferson.

A special tribute is planned during “The 53rd Annual CMA Awards,” featuring Kristofferson’s classic “Me and Bobby McGee” by Dierks Bentley with Sheryl Crow, Chris Janson and John Osborne.

Chris Janson said, “Kris Kristofferson is one of my favorite artists of all time. I’m very humbled to be a part of an incredible tribute to a legend who has done so much for country music. I couldn’t imagine being part of anything cooler than this at the CMA awards.”

The Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award is for an iconic artist who has attained the highest degree of recognition in Country Music. The Award was established to recognize an artist who has achieved both national and international prominence and stature through concert performances, humanitarian efforts, philanthropy, record sales, and public representation at the highest level.

The artist receiving this Award has positively impacted and contributed to the growth of the genre throughout a course of years that have proven to have an unprecedented historical impact on fans and industry alike.

Previous recipients of the Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award include Willie Nelson (2012), Kenny Rogers (2013), Johnny Cash (2015), and Dolly Parton (2016).

“The 53rd Annual CMA Awards” broadcasts live from Bridgestone Arena in Nashville Wednesday, Nov. 13 at 8/7c on the ABC Television Network.