Country News

Blake Shelton likes to joke that he’s an “old guy” nowadays, and I’m not calling him old, but his self-titled debut album was released 20 years ago today (7/31).

The album features three singles: “Austin,” “All Over Me,” and “Ol’ Red,” and Blake co-wrote four of the ten tracks.

Back in April, as we reported, Shelton celebrated 20 years of his debut single “Austin,” which was a number one hit.

“Austin” spent five weeks in the number one position and the tune was even a pop hit, as it peaked at number 18 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100. At the time, it was Shelton’s highest-peaking single on that chart until “Honeybee” debuted at number 13 in 2011.

“Austin” even tied a record set by Billy Ray Cyrus in 1992. Cyrus’ “Achy Breaky Heart” stayed atop the chart for five weeks, setting the mark for an artist’s debut single in the Broadcast Data Systems era of the chart.

Track Listing for Blake Shelton Debut 2001 Album:

1. “Every Time I Look at You” (Blake Shelton, Doug Johnson)

2.”All Over Me” (Shelton, Earl Thomas Conley, Mike Pyle)
3. “She Doesn’t Know She’s Got It”(John Rich, Chris Waters, Tom Shapiro)
4. “Austin” (Kirsti Manna, David Kent)
5. “Ol’ Red” (James “Bo” Bohan, Don Goodman, Mark Sherrill)
6. “I Thought There Was Time” (Bobby Braddock)
7. “Same Old Song” (Bobby Braddock)
8. “That’s What I Call Home” (Shelton, Richard Mainegra, Michael Kosser)
9. “Problems at Home” (Shelton, Billy Montana, Don Ellis)
10. “If I Was Your Man” (Lauren Braddock, Don Henry)

18 Blake Shelton Songs That We Love